Eclipse crashes on startup with Gnome3 on Ubuntu 11.10

Speaking of Gnome3 choices, I really like the whole CSS-ish management of themes: I’m sure it’ll help in making the gnome-look community grow with a number of experienced web developers who won’t have to struggle too much to deliver great-looking themes.

Once again, I think that at this moment we’re not quite there yet.

Not liking the fat-ass default title bar that Gnome3 comes with, I switched to the sleeker Adwaita Dark theme (the link to the developer’s website doesn’t seem to talk about it?) and I’m fine with it.

On an apparently completely unrelated front, Eclipse started to crash on startup, with no error messages logged on workspace/.metadata/.log, no errors on ~.xsession-errors, no errors on the shell! The splash screen would show up, no progress bar would ever come up, and it’d stay forever like that (sometimes with a java process taking up to 100% of CPU, sometimes not).

Out of plain desperation, I went for a shy export GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS=1 on the shell script that I use to launch Eclipse and… guess what? It worked! ๐Ÿ˜€

I use an external script to choose one of the installs of Eclipse I have (Helios J2EE, Helios CDT, Indigo.. so I have /usr/bin/helios, /usr/bin/cdt and /usr/bin/indigo), but for what concerns this issue it may come down to this:

#!/bin/bash
export GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS=1
./eclipse

But then I thought… surely the theme I just installed has nothing to do with this issue, right? Well, I was sadly wrong. Using Gnome Tweak Tool (I don’t understand why this does not come with Gnome by default) I figured out that switching the GTK Theme back to default (Adwaita, but not dark) Eclipse runs fine without the GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS variable set! And I can keep the Adwaita Dark windows decoration theme!

Another step towards XFCE I managed not to take.. Gnome3, don’t fail me, I’m trying hard to like you! ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Eclipse crashes on startup with Gnome3 on Ubuntu 11.10

  1. Just typing “eclipse freezes in ” will bring up “ubuntu” as the suggestion ๐Ÿ™‚
    Sadly, it seems to be a persistent little issue.

    I did try the env variable in a previous release. Will give it a try it out with default GTK theme set and see if it works for me too.

    Like

  2. I guess it’s kind of a common problem, but I wasn’t able to find a lot of solutions out there except for the good old switch to native windows… Actually I don’t notice any performance issue with using native GDK instead of Eclipse’s SWT but.. SWT is prettier! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

